2,500 ratings on iTunes!

Everyone who knows me well knows that I’m not a numbers kind of girl. I suck at complicated math. I am not the friend at the restaurant you want to entrust with figuring out who-owes-how-much-plus-tip.

Today The Rock Star’s Daughter received its 2,500th rating on iTunes and I’ve got to say, even despite my basic understanding of numbers, it is mind-blowing to me that 2,500 readers out there in the world cared enough to read my book about Taylor and voice an opinion about it.  I don’t own 2,500 pieces of anything! I don’t know 2,500 people!

Authors (and copywriters, which is my day job but similar enough) spend a lot of time alone pouring their hearts into their work. Most of us work in a vacuum, free from interference by outside influences, until we think we’re done. It’s a scary thing indeed to put your work out into the world and wait for a reaction.

Will people like it?

Will people even notice?

I can’t begin to express to you guys who have read the book how much your ratings, honest feedback, input, support, and reviews mean to me. Thank you so, so much for taking the extra effort after you reached the last page to share your opinion.  Especially all of you cool kids on Wattpad who have been keeping me smiling these last few days with your notes and comments and your super funny Watty names (I’m talking to you, ImmaWeirdo, HoodedLittleMonster and imasuperninjamonkey)!

In other news, my chihuahua is being a complete brat about going outside now that there’s snow on the ground in Brooklyn. Does anyone have any ideas on how to get him over his childishness about getting his feet cold? He is 14 years old and cranky and won’t allow me to touch his feet to put booties on him. We go through this every year, and every winter I find myself perilously unprepared for handling this. If you see a blond girl in Park Slope standing in a brownstone doorway, begging and pleading with an over-sized beige chihuahua mix that kind of looks like a teddy bear to please, please for heaven’s sake just come outside already, you’ve found me.

Hurry up, spring!

3 thoughts on “2,500 ratings on iTunes!

  1. Hi Caitlyn,

    I devoured your book this morning. What a great read! I would have gladly paid some $$ for it and will look out for anything else that you write. It was fun, easy to read and told a great story.

    I’m also a copywriter, working on my first YA. You’ve given me some serious inspiration – just wanted to let you know.

    All the best,
    Krissy

  2. Just finished you book on iBooks. Loved it! Can’t wait to get a paper edition to pass along to my little sister. I love to read but am always so busy with my business that I rarely find time to do so. I spotted your book as a freebie on iBooks and decided to give it a shot. So glad I did… The story line sucked me in and I couldn’t put it down. I finished the book in 2 readings, and that’s extremely rare for me. ( : Just wanted to let you know how much I
    enjoyed reading. Thanks! -emilyanne

    • Hi Emilyanne,
      thank you so much for your kind words! I am really glad that you enjoyed the book. I just checked out the Applesprouts store on Etsy, too… oh, so preppy and fun! This stuff is right up my alley!

Leave a Reply

