What to do with the Norfleets….

One of you crazy kids suggested in your iTunes review of The Rock Star’s Daughter that I write a book about Betsey Norfleet transferring to Treadwell Academy.

I have to confess, I had a brief inspiration to do this while I was writing the book, and then forgot all about it.

But now I am totally in love with the idea! Those of you who’ve started reading The Believer’s Daughter (don’t worry, it’ll be on iTunes soon, my publisher tells me) know that I introduce a ton of new characters in that book, all of whom will have their own stories told eventually (if I start drinking more Red Bull and calling into work more frequently)!

A few of those characters are…

  • Emma Jeffries, the main character of Book 3, who suffers from significant body image disorders as she tries to advance her modeling career.
  • Juliette Santangello, the daughter of an investment banker in Long Island who’s convicted of running a Ponzi scheme.
  • Lauren Glover, a senior at Treadwell on a scholarship, who finds out a terrible secret about her family (and how it binds her to another student at Treadwell).
  • Ameera Thompson, the daughter of a high-powered record label executive.

Why not Betsey Norfleet? What could Betsey possibly do to get kicked out of her private school in New York and end up at Treadwell? And how would the lovable troublemaker behave when her bad-influence older sister wasn’t around?

5 thoughts on “What to do with the Norfleets….

  1. Dear Caitlin,
    I don’t often like to compare authors. I am an avid reader and must admit; for a teen author just starting out…your amazing. I personally am an Ellen Hopkins fan. I have read and also own every book she’s written. In between her books I often look for similar ones. I have not (until now) found another book that has actually interested me past the first ten pages. The Rick stars daughter however…..engulfed me entirely!! I enjoyed every page, and having lost my father a couple of years ago. Had a sort of connection with the book. Your writing in teen literature is amazing, wonderful, and by all means great. I was addicted. I spent everyday cozied up in the couch with the puppy reading…not caring that she lays right on top of me 🙂 keep writing!! You were meant for it. In my honest opinion I would love to see a second book about Taylor and her family….. And maybe her future with or without Todd?

    • Angie, thank you so much! Your words mean EVERYTHING today to me because I just had the lousiest day at work! I’m so sorry to hear about your father’s passing. We just published the second book (The Believer’s Daughter) which will be on iTunes hopefully this week. Taylor makes a guest appearance in that one… but a Taylor sequel about her junior year, dating Todd, is in the works!

  2. I love your book The Rock Stars Daughter!
    I read itinerary 2 days..I’m usuallynot a big fan of reading..but this book couldn’t stop reading! And I hope you keep coming-out with new books!!!!!(:

    • Hi Brianna,
      thanks so much for reading and for sending me a message! You can actually (only until next Friday) download a PDF Advance Reader’s Copy of Book #2 from my Facebook page! http://www.facebook.com/TreadwellAcademyNovels
      If you’d prefer to read on Kindle or iPhone, however, Book 2 is already up on Amazon and should be on iTunes by the end of the week (but I’d encourage you to download the ARC because it’s FREE but may have some typos in it)!

Leave a Reply

