Welcome to Madrid!

When I drafted my first outline for The Viscount’s Daughter and began planning for Betsey’s story to overlap with the continuation of Taylor’s in The Rock Star’s Daughter sequel (due out this fall), I needed a perfect destination for some of the action. It had to be a little exotic and luxurious, because (not to spoil too much of the plot) I wanted Jake to turn up in Taylor’s life again somewhere completely unexpected.

It also had to be a city where I’ve visited before, because it’s just too hard for me to try to convincingly write about a city to which I’ve never traveled.  I considered Berlin, but it didn’t seem like such a Taylor kind of town (it is, however, totally a Caitlyn kind of town). Paris was also an option, but given the circumstances of Betsey’s life, Paris wouldn’t have been anything out of the ordinary for her.

And then it came to me: Madrid! I visited Spain last year for my friend Tranner’s wedding (The Believer’s Daughter is dedicated to her) and fell head-over-heels in love with the sunny, friendly city. Everyone told me when I was planning my trip to go to Barcelona, Barcelona, Barcelona… and yet it was Madrid, ornate and modern, that captured my heart.

The fancy buildings of Madrid!

 

The grand, grand avenues of Madrid

 

Chocolateria San Ginas

 

 

Where Kristijan takes Betsey on her first night in Spain

I’ll be posting more pics and info about Madrid over the next few days to tell you more about this beautiful city, and help you visualize the events in the story as Kristijan, Betsey and Taylor invade Spain on a mission to prevent Todd from falling in love with another girl.

6 thoughts on “Welcome to Madrid!

  1. is there going to be a follow up book on the viscount daughter it is a really interesting book,i’m not even a teenager(way out of teenage range by far) and i love your books

    • Hi Dolly, there will definitely be a follow-up book to the Viscount’s Daughter. Betsey’s story is only just beginning. I’ve also gotten some requests to tell Bijoux’s story, so I’m kicking around some ideas! Happy Holidays and thanks for reading 🙂
      Caitlyn

  2. Omg I just finished reading this book it was amazing your books always make me feel like im in the witnessing it! Awesome can’t wait for more!!!:)

    • I am so, so happy you enjoyed it! I put a lot of myself into all of my writing, but there was something about Betsey that really made me emotional. This was a hard one to finish, because I didn’t want to let go!

      • I had a feeling in the beginning when she talked about weird situations with danko what she was talking about and then you finally explained what happend and my reaction was omg how could he!

Leave a Reply

