St. Patrick’s Day – right around the corner!

St. Paddy's day in Brooklyn sodabreadIt’s true what they say: everyone’s Irish on St. Patrick’s Day! Even in my traditionally Italian neighborhood, my neighbors are getting ready for this weekend’s Irish festivities. Our local bakery, Mazzola’s, has Irish soda bread in the window, and the Italian butcher is offering corned beef (check out the nifty little leprechaun above). When I was a kid, I took Irish dancing lessons and one year danced in the big parade in Chicago (just like in Backdraft)! These days, I like to take the day off from work (when I’m able) and head uptown to the big New York City parade. I genuinely do love Irish traditional music, and it’s fun to indulge in one morning of national pride!

 

3 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day – right around the corner!

Leave a Reply

