Watch out LA, here comes trouble!

I am growing so very, very excited about going home to LA next week for a visit! The unseasonably freezing weather in New York is definitely contributing to my excitement to board my flight already. It’s also been a while since I’ve been back out West, and I am so homesick I’m not sure how I’m going to do everything I long to do while I’m there.

Here are a few things that I plan to cross off my list while in Los Angeles (mostly food and coffee-related, but that’s OK)!

1) Giant soy mocha at Coffee Bean. Yes, there’s Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in NYC now, but it’s not the same.

2) Giant soy mocha at Peet’s. There aren’t any Peets in New York, and even if there were, it would be unlikely that they’d serve tri-berry scones from LaBrea bakery. Ideally I’ll be hitting up the Peet’s on San Vicente, where I often used to see Ryan Reynolds back in my LA days.

3) Seeing a movie at The Grove. I’m not sure whether or not this dream will become a reality because I have so much to do during my short stay, but The Grove is the outdoor mall of my dreams.  I love it there and it’s one of the best places to spot celebrities, anywhere!

4) Enormous Urth’s Farmer Salad at Urth Cafe on Main Street in Santa Monica. My old stomping ground, right by the beach.

5) A stroll through the Venice canals. Hopefully the weather will hold up! This might be my favorite neighborhood in the entire world.  Fat cats lounging in the sun, geese, ducks, sunshine and flowers. What’s not to love?

6) Almond-crusted French Toast at Coral Tree Cafe in Brentwood. A breakfast worth the entire expense of the trip.

7) Skee ball at the Santa Monica pier.

8) A long walk down Montana Avenue.  This is a little off-the-beaten path of tourists on the West Side, but it’s a beautiful street lined with some of the best shopping in Los Angeles. Planet Blue! How I’ve missed you! I want to buy wrap bracelets just like these:

 

 

9) I have no idea if I’ll have time to make it all the way east to Los Feliz, but if so, my two main stops in that ‘hood will be The Alcove on Hillhurst for a slice of princess cake, and then a trot around the corner to Skylight Books on Vermont Ave, my favorite independent book store on the West Coast. This is one drawback to life in LA – driving from the cool areas on the West Side to the cool areas on the East Side (shout out to House of Pies! Eatwell!) can take more than an hour, and unfortunately on a trip this short, I probably won’t have time to do both (and definitely won’t have time to chill in Chinatown or Japantown, my other faves).

10) And of course, quality beach time in Santa Monica.

I’ll be posting pictures!

2 thoughts on “Watch out LA, here comes trouble!

  1. Just finished the Treadwell series and so sad there are no more !!!

    I have a kindle and read hundreds if books but this is the first review I have ever felt compelled to make

    Your writing is brilliant and I so enjoyed the stories. It’s been a pleasure reading a book that makes you feel desperate to turn the page to find out more. The writing flows I can’t rate your style highly enough

    Thank you Julia

  2. Sounds like a fun trip! I get to go there in a few weeks, and I cannot wait! Enjoy the sun while you get a chance! I also love the Grove, and those Venice canals are pretty fun to walk around, too.

Leave a Reply

