The Emma book – finally here!

I’ve been waiting and waiting and waiting to make this announcement for ages, and have been holding off until the book’s been made available on Amazon as well as iTunes.
The Tycoon's DaughterThe Tycoon’s Daughter, aka The Emma Book, is finally available! You may remember the first mention of Emma in The Rock Star’s Daughter, when Taylor wanders into a mall and finds comfort in seeing the familiar face of her high school adversary in a window display at a Hunter Lodge store.

To all of her classmates at The Treadwell Academy, Emma appears to have everything a girl could want. She’s gorgeous and filthy rich, and if that weren’t enough, her father made her the face of the campaign for his iconic clothing brand. She’s on the cover of Hunter Lodge’s sexy catalog, and every teenage boy in America knows who she is.

But the tricky thing about having everything is that it can’t last forever. When Emma gains weight the summer before her junior year and her father’s creative team ever-so-gently removes her from the upcoming holiday catalog, her self-confidence is crushed.  What begins as a diet manifests into a dangerous obsession with losing weight, and as Emma pursues a high fashion modeling career to get revenge on her father, she quickly learns that everyone wants something from her, and rarely are other people’s intentions in her own best interest.

It took me quite a while to finish this book because I know from exchanging emails with my readers that body image obsession and self-harming behaviors are very, very common among this generation of teen girls. It seems like for the last ten years or so, young women have been force-fed even more unrealistic images of what the “ideal” body looks like by the media than when I was a teenager – back when Kate Moss’s Eternity ads launched a “heroin chick” wave of anorexia (not that Kate Moss should be personally blamed for that).  I’m not ashamed to say that I think the Victoria’s Secret Angel fashion show is about the most Satanic thing televised, ever, and I find it not surprising that there is no equivalent annual broadcast to send men into dizzy tailspins of dieting and exercise. However, times are changing. It delights me to see new faces on television and in movies of more diverse women being presented as “normal.” Lena Dunham’s a bit of a hero in this space, and I consider Ireland Baldwin (6’2!), Gabourey Sidibe, Demi Lovato, and Lorde to be refreshing role models for young women. Girls who say “this is who I am and how I look, deal with it” rather than publicly conforming to unhealthy standards, and women who have been vocal about their own struggles with body image so that young women feel less alone.

While Cameron Diaz isn’t a nutritionist or a psychiatrist, sometimes it’s more interesting for young women to get advice from someone who’s internationally famous for her beauty and talent, so I’m going to go ahead and plug her book, The Body Book. Cameron comes right out and states a simple fact that a lot of girls need to hear: when your body is hungry, you have to feed it. You have to feed it the right stuff and take care of it, because you’ve only got one life, and it’s a shame to go through it spending all of your time worrying about how other people view you.

Check out The Tycoon’s Daughter on Amazon and on iTunes.

9 thoughts on “The Emma book – finally here!

  1. I love Ireland Baldwin so much! Will we be finding out what happens to Betsey anytime soon? Taylor’s story was kind of explained in Betsey’s, and I hope Betsey’s is explained in Emma’s

    • Hi Erin! Betsey’s story really isn’t touched upon in Emma’s too much, and I’m trying to think of a creative way to continue it for her. I’ve given a lot of thought to writing books either about Nicola or Chloe, and have even considered how I might write a whole book about flaky Bijoux. I’m definitely open to suggestions!

  2. Love the Treadwell books. I checked amazon repeteadly last month cuz i knew the next book would be out soon! Emma’s story was good but it felt different than the others. I still enjoyed it but wasn’t her last name Jeffries in the other books? Also a couple times the book referred to her roommate and roommates sister as the Northrup’s….was that a mistake?

    • Oh my mistake! I was confusing the name Northrup with norfleet! And I did want to say I loved Charlie more than Colin! I like the way he was adult about the age situation and also how it was just a friendship that could grow into something more when she’s older!

      • Hi Kelly! You’ve got sharp eyes! There actually is a typo in The Viscount’s Daughter when I described Jenny Northrup as Jenny Nothrup. And as for Emma, when I first wrote The Rock Star’s Daughter, I had no idea it was ever going to become as popular as it did! I had named her Emma Jeffries without giving much thought to her name, but of course, the actual CEO of Abercrombie & Fitch (who Emma’s father is definitely *not* based on) is named Mike Jeffries. Since Abercrombie’s come under fire for promoting unhealthy body image, I wanted to distance the Emma book from that retail chain, so I renamed the character. This book is probably the most somber of the series because it’s such a serious topic, and to keep it realistic, Emma’s battle is probably nowhere near over on the last page. Super sharp Treadwell readers will piece together that Charlie’s stepfather is the journalist who helps Grace in The Believer’s Daughter. He can definitely come back in future stories, as I do love a cute New Zealander accent and it was important to me to have at least one or two responsible adults in Emma’s life who didn’t take advantage of her. Thanks so much for your notes!

  3. Caitlyn, as always, I had to give your book five stars. It is probably my least favourite of your books so far, simply because the subject is so serious and the book is mostly not a cheerful read. I am now in my mid-30s, but as a teenager I suffered from an eating disorder. I thought you captured the reality of eating disorders really well. The moment that stood out for me the most was the day when Emma is sitting in that dinner eating banana pancakes. I remember having the exact same thoughts when I realised I had a problem! Hope this will gear up for a sequel when Emma hits 18 – can Colin or Charlie make a reappearance then? 🙂

    • Hi! The Emma book was definitely my most difficult book so far to write, precisely because it was so serious and I very consciously tried to avoid presenting Emma’s mindset in a way that might influence readers. I definitely want to continue Emma’s story with Colin at some point (soon). This is a really subtle detail, but in The Believer’s Daughter, Charlie’s mom is married in NJ to the journalist who helps Grace. He’s in the Emma book because I wanted her to have a few people in her life looking out for her best interests, but for her self-esteem to be too low for her to accept their concern. Thanks for reading and for your note!

      • I like the interconnected ness of the auxiliary characters you have in all the stories so far. As more come into form this could very very interesting how they all influence the main characters (each girl at Treadwell, both current and future stories).

  4. Bought it. Read it. Love it. I know you are doing a Taylor sequel but what other Treadwell gal’s story will we be learning next?

Leave a Reply

